After Before Friday: Week 57 – Fritillaria

The AfterBefore forum is usually overseen by our trusted and hard-working leader Stacy. However, she is taking a well earned break and Loré from Snows Fissures and Fractures has very kindly volunteered to step in for this week.

As it is a week of “differents” I have attempted to jump out of my comfort zone for a little try at something I wouldn’t usually do, I have turned a photo into a painting. I thought it would be fun to try!

After frequent visits to RHS Harlow Carr I had a selection of floral images and it brought to mind the old style botanical images, similar to the ones you would see in an old text book and you now see decorating notebooks and greetings cards.

Here is my starting image…

Fritillaria

The steps I used to convert this were:-

  • open in Photoshop
  • duplicate layer and add poster edges filter
  • increased the brightness and reduced the contrast
  • added a colour fill layer with a yellowish hue
  • added a texture image
  • added a mask to the layer with the poster edges and painted the flower through it using white as a foreground colour. This was tricky and took ages to get the edges just right, or at least as near as I could.
  • then in a new layer I added some text

Fritillaria-2

I am hoping it looks kind of like a botanical image, I had a lot of fun working with it and it was interesting to try adding textures. I’d love to hear what you think.

Be sure to check out the other ABFriday transformations, being looked after this week by Loré at Snow’s Fissures and Fractures.

And also the “reveal” of September’s One Photo Focus image from Ben Rowe of Aperture64 on Stacy’s Visual Venturing.

19 thoughts on “After Before Friday: Week 57 – Fritillaria

  1. Katie, I love what you did!! Good for your for stepping outside of your comfort zone – nothing ventured, nothing gained, and you absolutely NAILED it!!! Thanks so much for submitting to Loré while I was away. I was able to focus on my daughter’s move, knowing all was in wonderful hands 🙂

    1. Thank you Stacy, very kind of you to say so! It was very good of Loré to step in for a week, I think she enjoyed doing it too. I hope you enjoyed your well earned rest and your daughter is nicely settled in. See you next week for OPF! 🙂

      1. Thanks, Katie. Loré was wonderful, and in fact, I kinda like the idea of passing around the hosting spot 👍🏻 As for my daughter, she’s happily ensconced and we did enjoy our time on the “left coast”! Wine country was fabulous 🍷😄

Leave a Reply

