After Before Friday: August One Photo Focus

The After Before Friday Forum is hosted by Stacy from Visual Venturing, it features a twice monthly behind the scenes look at various editing processes. Featuring a gathering of photographers all keen to learn from each other, we post an image before and after editing.  If you want to find out more, or just visit and look at the images, click on this link

This month the One Photo Focus is from little old me!

It was taken earlier this year in the beautiful seaside town of Lyme Regis on the Dorset/Devon border.

The picture is of the Cobb, a breakwater built to protect the town from storms and to provide an artificial harbour for boats. The Cobb is mentioned in Jane Austen’s Persuasion as the place where Louisa Musgrove fell and also in John Fowles’ novel The French Lieutentant’s Woman. It was used in the film of the same name, can you just see Meryl Streep on the edge of the jetty, standing against the storm, black cape billowing around her?

Anyway, here is my before image…

OPF August (The Cobb) - before

At the moment, I am on holiday, I did the image before I went and somehow thought that I would remember what I did to it. Well, now I realise that I can’t even remember which programme I used, I’m almost certain it was Lightroom, but I did try Photoshop at some point too. All I remember is that I cropped it, altered highlights/shadows and contrast, possibly even added a graduated filter and I think that I tried to increase the whiteness of the water. I would have liked to have added some bigger breaking waves, but thats a Photoshop thing that I will have to come back to when I’ve more time and energy to work out what I’m doing.

If you had a go at editing my picture, I hope that you had fun with it and I look forward to seeing the results on Stacy’s post on Friday.

Here is my final image…

OPF August (The Cobb) -after

Click on any of the images to see a bigger version.

Please go and check out the other versions at Stacy’s One Photo Focus

25 thoughts on “After Before Friday: August One Photo Focus

  1. Thanks for letting us re-interpret your image, Katie. And thanks also for the background information. It was an interesting challenge, providing many different avenues to explore.

      1. You’re welcome Katie. A distant memory eh? Isn’t it amazing how that happens??? Well, welcome back! And thank you for the nice words. 🙂

  2. I knew it! I saw Persuasion so many times, I knew the second I saw your image that was it. Thank you so much for your wonderful photo, I had a great time playing around. As for your edit, I like how you warmed up the image, it looks great. Have a fun time on your vacation.

    1. Full marks to you for observation! I never new there was a film though, maybe I’ll have to search that out! I’m glad you had fun playing with this image, I like what you did too. 🙂

  3. Really like this wonderful image Katie and the many versions it inspired including yours.
    I do enjoy your water shots.
    Hope you’re enjoying your holiday 😃

  4. No worries that you can’t remember exactly what you did, Katie – the result is wonderfully dramatic! Thanks so much for stepping up to the plate and providing us an image earlier than you had planned. I really appreciated your willingness and we all enjoyed having a go at it 🙂

    1. Stacy, it was a pleasure! Thanks to you for co-ordinating it all, I can see that it is no mean feat! I’m glad you enjoyed having a go at the image. I like your version, I’m looking forward to watching your video later today. 🙂

    1. Thanks Lynne. Although mostly there weren’t any major changes, there is a subtle variety of edits and some interesting crops, I wouldn’t have thought of the squarer or landscape crop, but I really it. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  5. What a great commentary on what you did and why. (That was sarcasm, in case you were unsure!) I can’t remember? Woman, you take a great photo and process it seamlessly and tell us you can’t remember? Sorry. I don’t buy it. You just want to maintain an air of mysteriousness (if that’s even a word). Great job, Katie. Sorry I couldn’t join in this week but I have ongoing laptop issues.

    1. Thanks Emilio, I think! 😉 If only I can disguise all my senior moments as mysteriousness, I’m not sure anyone would buy it! Sorry you couldn’t join in, I missed seeing what you would make of it. Modern technology is great, when it works! 🙂

    1. Thanks Ben, thats a really interesting comment, I’d never thought about it like that. I’m glad that you like it and can’t wait to see what you have in store for us next month. And I love your hypnotic high speed editing video!

Leave a Reply

