After Before Friday: Week 50

The After Before Friday Forum is hosted by Stacy from Visual Venturing, it features a weekly behind the scenes look at various editing processes. Featuring a gathering of photographers all keen to learn from each other, each week we post an image before and after  editing. If you want to find out more, or just visit and look at the images, click on this link.

This week I am experimenting with a black and white technique I read about in a magazine. It uses the duotone mode in Photoshop and in the magazine produced a very striking conversion, so I thought I’d give it a go.

I chose an abstract image, because it had plenty of texture and contrast, and opened it in Photoshop.

rusty gears-2

I converted it to black and white by choosing – Image-mode-grayscale…

Screenshot 2015-05-20 11.26.50

I changed it to 8 bit/channel as it doesn’t seem to work at 16 bit. Then chose Image-mode-duotone which brings up a box that enables you to choose different colours to add in and alter the tones that these apply to.

Screenshot 2015-05-20 11.25.08

From this I changed the type to “tritone” so I could choose two colours and black and picked the colours that I wanted. I chose blue and orange/brown as they are complimentary colours so should work well together and brought the blue into the dark tones and the orange/brown into the highlights using the curves alongside the colours.

I then made a few more adjustments to the image, I used the high pass filter to sharpen it and added a curves layer to adjust the contrast. At this stage, I couldn’t stop playing, so I also added a diffuse glow filter.

rusty gears

There are many ways in Photoshop and Lightroom to create a duotone, tritone or split tone effect, this is just one of them, but I thought it was a quite effective and straightforward method.

Let me know what you think, I’d love to hear your comments and make sure to visit the other After Before Friday transformations over at Visual Venturing.

17 thoughts on “After Before Friday: Week 50

  1. Wow, who knew rusty old bike sprockets could make for a gorgeous image: 😉 I really do love how your mind works, Katie! Lovely choice of colors and a great tutorial to show us how. Thanks so much for sharing. You just keep right on experimenting 😀

  2. Excellent post, Katie. I’ve not worked with split toning before; looks like something I need to try out. But you’re right about PS having mulitple ways to accomplish something. I like the final results.

  3. Photoshop is a huge tool box and as you have shown there this is one way to make the effect. I would have used a gradient map myself and that just goes to show different people can get the same effect with a different approach. Nice work Katie

  4. Lightroom has a great- and easy- split tone function that I have tried in the ast but have moved away from. I do like what you did here, though I would have stayed with the rusty metal and played with that. I’m saying “I” would have, not that you should have and I think what you accomplished is just beautiful. I think the color tones you chose really work well with the metal!

    1. I like the rust colour too, but I’m not sure about the yellow background! I have used the split toning in Lightroom too and it is very easy. With this tritone, you get to keep the black too and I think that makes a bit of a difference and it was also very easy (with instructions, obviously!). Photoshop is completely new to me and I’m enjoying finding different methods, it’s fun (yes, I really should get out more!). Thanks for your comment, Emilio, I really appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

