After Before Friday: Week 47 – One Photo Focus

The After Before Friday Forum is hosted by Stacy from Visual Venturing, it features a weekly behind the scenes look at various editing processes. Featuring a gathering of photographers all keen to learn from each other, each week we post an image before and after editing.  If you want to find out more, or just visit and look at the images, click on this link.

This month we have the honour of processing an image taken by Shane Francescut of The Daily Minute.

OPF - Shane before
Image courtesy of Shane Francescut

It has some great elements to it, the bright children’s play equipment, the bold shapes of the buildings and of course, the shiny roof of the greenhouse(?). It is quite underexposed and dark, so I wanted to lighten it up and to accentuate the bold tones by increasing the contrast and clarity. I decided to test out a preset that I had made a few weeks ago, it seemed better, but still dark, so I increased the overall exposure too.

One Photo Focus - Shane-2
Image courtesy of Shane Francescut – edited by Katie Prior

I hope you like my interpretation of Shane’s image, please go and check out the other versions at Stacy’s One Photo Focus.

14 thoughts on “After Before Friday: Week 47 – One Photo Focus

  1. I really like your version and i am going now to see the other ones – crazy how the see-saw was barely noticed in the original – and in yours it jumps right out

      1. well I agree – and after going there and seeing the creative takes – wow was that fun to see what you all do – and I have a few that I really liked – anyhow, when i saw your again in the midst of all of them – I noticed something else that I like about yours – you seem to give a white washed feel to the earth= in the front and even the greenhouse frame seems white-ish – and that was more noticeable while seeing your version – with the others – 🙂
        anyhow, it sure is a weird photo to work with –

      2. Thanks, that’s v kind of you to say. Its great to all work on the same image, but when you see them all together you do find yourself thinking, wish I had done that! So I really appreciate your comment. 🙂

  2. Okay, Katie, I want that preset you made 🙂 Really, really like the bright and cheery atmosphere you brought to the image and love the abundance of whites in it. That’s what really caught my eye. The bright earth around the teeter-totter, flowing up into the stairway and echoed in the facade of the greenhouse. Well done! Thanks so much for being a part of the ABF crew 🙂

    1. Oh Stacy, you say the nicest things! If I can work out how to send presets, you are more than welcome, I doubt it is anything revolutionary though! Thanks for being our posse master, its fun being part of the ABF crew! 🙂

Leave a Reply

