After Before Friday: Week 43 – One Photo Focus

The After Before Friday Forum is hosted by Stacy from Visual Venturing, it features a weekly behind the scenes look at various editing processes. Featuring a gathering of photographers all keen to learn from each other, each week we post an image before and after  editing. If you want to find out more, or just visit and look at the images, click on this link.

Once a month we all edit the same image in One Photo Focus. This month we have the privilege of using Cee Neuner of Cee’s Photography‘s image. She has provided us with a really nice image of a porch set out for a relaxing afternoon with chairs on the front. I find this image very charming and I could envisage it as an old photo from the early days of colour family snaps. I wanted to warm up the picture and then try to age it a little by playing with filters and textures.

Image courtesy of Cee Neuner
Image courtesy of Cee Neuner

In Lightroom, I…

  •  cropped and straightened the image
  • reduced the highlights and lifted the shadows
  • created black and white points
  • increased vibrance to 15
  • reduced saturation to -5
  • increased clarity
  • increased temperature and tint
  • increased luminance and saturation of the yellow and increased saturation and made hue more yellow in the green on the HSL panel
  • added a little sharpening
  • then added a small post crop vignette.
Image with Lightroom adjustments
Image with Lightroom adjustments

Then I transferred to Perfect Effects 9 and added some filters to change the look of the picture, I added…

  • Angel Glow 100%
  • Vintage cool 72%
  • subtle vignette 100%
  • Cool concrete textures 75%
  • Light leak 50%
  • Ansel border

Then (having finally worked out how to go straight back to LR) I added some final global adjustments in Lightroom to get to my final image.

Final image
Final image

I have taken this week to really have a play with ideas and looks with this image,  I hope that you  like the effect I have achieved. Comments and feedback welcome.

Please check out some of the other One Photo Focus images at Stacy’s Visual Venturing.

 

20 thoughts on “After Before Friday: Week 43 – One Photo Focus

  1. I love your final image. I am a sucker for sun-flare, and I love the vintage look. I have never tried the Perfect Effects 9, but I am sure I have some actions that are similar…. thanks for the inspiration.

      1. Hi, Katie, thanks for the info, vintage is okay sometimes like you say, not something you want to “normally do: but it is fun to play once in a while!

    1. I’m glad you like my edit , Cee and thanks for sharing your image with us, it was fun to work with. 🙂
      I’m looking forward to going through all the edits and seeing what the others have done, it might take me a while though! 😉

      1. I went through them this morning, and it took awhile, but I sure did have a lot of fun reading how people created their masterpieces. 🙂

  2. I always like when you share what you did to the shot… 🙂
    I like your first version more than the final – but both art artistic and such cool transformations.
    also, I have seen a couple other entries for this image – and had no idea it was Cee’s until I came here – and she really did find a cool porch!! love the chairs and angle of the tree – and really like how you cropped/straightened….

    1. Thanks, it was a great image that Cee shared and I think we all had fun playing with it. I think with these One Photo Focus posts, I like to just push it a bit further!

      1. yeah I like what you do with them – and I finally went over the the link you give and noticed that the host of the challenge shows the monthly ones all together – and that was very cool. such a cool idea….

Leave a Reply

