After Before Friday: Week 42

The After Before Friday Forum is hosted by Stacy from Visual Venturing, it features a weekly behind the scenes look at various editing processes. Featuring a gathering of photographers all keen to learn from each other, each week we post an image before and after  editing. If you want to find out more, or just visit and look at the images, click on this link.

crocus in focus-2

I took this picture a couple of weeks back when one of our local parks had an amazingly beautiful carpet of crocuses, it is quite a spectacle.

The image to me is too cluttered, with no obvious point of focus, my aim was to darken the image and make the group of crocuses in focus more obvious.

In Lightroom, I used a large post crop vignette to darken the outer edges of the picture and then using the radial filter I chose an area around the crocuses on the right and with the mask inverted I reduced the exposure further to draw the eye more to that area and to create or accentuate the area of interest.

crocus in focus

A cropped version of this image is in the header on my blog.

Here are some more photos from that day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments and feedback are welcome.

Please have a look at the other AfterBefore images on Visual Venturing 

25 thoughts on “After Before Friday: Week 42

  1. I like that you chose the ones off centre as the focus. For personal taste I find the vignette a bit strong but the colours are gorgeous. So beautiful to see a field of them.

  2. Oh, the beautiful colors of spring, captured beautifully in these crocuses! Love the way off-center focus, Katie. I think I like your cropped header even better, only because it really highlights that focus 😉 Thumbs up, either way!

  3. your darkened image of the crocuses was fantastic – truly a work of art and I liked the original just fine until I saw what you did with the effects. I t was like seeing slab of filet on a plate – and then seeing it butterflied and charred to serve MR. ha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

