One Four Challenge: March Week 3

Robyn G from Captivate Me hosts a monthly feature called One Four Challenge, one image processed four different ways. Each week of the month the participants post a different version of their image.Β 

For this week’s image I have tried to create a softer look.

From the week one image, I…

  • Increased the overall exposure by a couple of stops which achieved the lightness I wanted, it did however leave the water a fairly yellowy green colour.
  • To deal with this, I used the split toning function, I chose a blue colour for the shadows, which created a better colour for the water and to counterbalance the resulting coldness, I used a beige yellow colour for the highlights, then adjusted the split toning balance to the warmer side.
  • It was still a little bit too yellow so in the HSL panel, I adjusted the yellow hue to a more orangy tone which created a more pleasing overall colour.
  • Then using the radial tool, I created a vignette to darken and unsharpen the edges a little.

Cygnet week 3

Comments and feedback welcome.

Click this link for the Week One version.

Click this link for the Week Two version.

Why not hop over to see the other posts on theΒ One Four Challenge, click on the link or use the tag “One Four Challenge” in the Reader.

25 thoughts on “One Four Challenge: March Week 3

  1. Beautiful edit, Katie. I like the warm tone and was very interested in the split toning technique. Thank you for describing the steps you followed…. very informative and food for thought for me.

    1. Its a pleasure Chris. The split toning technique is turning out to be a very useful tool for me and its great how we can all learn from each other. Thanks for your comment.

    1. Thanks very much. I have still quite a few posts to catch up with from the last couple of weeks, never mind this weeks. Its really interesting to see all the One Four edits. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Stacy. I’m glad you like the softer colours. I’m torn between the softness of this and the contrastiness (yes autocorrect, I know its a made-up word) of the first two images. Will have to see what I can do for the last edit! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks for your comment Ben. The water was a strange colour anyway, when I took the shadows right up, it had a very yellow/ olive green hue, it could be due to the artificial looking sand underneath the river water, not a great combination. I think I have being trying to make the image have the style of a painting, which doesn’t seem easy in LR, and the brownish orange colour was my attempt at a sort of background/foreground colour you get on an oil painting. If I’m honest, I prefer the darker, starker tones of the first two images anyway. I might have to try and reach out from LR for my last edit, maybe try some mobile apps.

  2. I like the color hue in this week’s edit, interesting choice of colors and they really are nice on the eyes. This swan is a very lovely subject, I have enjoyed each of your edits.

Leave a Reply

