One Four Challenge: February Week 4 (and poll)

Robyn G from Captivate Me hosts a monthly feature called One Four Challenge, one image processed four different ways. Each week of the month the participants post a different version of their image and at the end create a poll to see which image was the most popular.

This week, I have experimented with a much tighter crop to try and emphasise the reflections of the posts in the incoming tide on the beach. I have gone back to the warmer version from week one and worked from there, I also increased the temperature further and moved the tint slider to the green side to balance the image.

bournemouth-beach-week-4

Here is the finished week four edit, click on the image to see a bigger version.

I’ve included a slideshow gallery of all the edits, including the original image, your comments and feedback are very welcome, I’d love to know what you think. There’s even a poll for you to vote for your favourite!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Why not hop over to see the other posts on the One Four Challenge, just use the tag “One Four Challenge” in the Reader.

 

 

20 thoughts on “One Four Challenge: February Week 4 (and poll)

  1. This crop works because of the image content, such as the vertical lines. If I’d never seen the other versions, I’d think this was great. Well, actually, it is. But I think I like the wider images better. They’re all good; it’s a great image.

    1. Hi Joanne, I’m so sorry for the late reply, I’ve just found your comment in the spam folder! How annoying!! 😦
      Thanks so much for commenting on my One Four Post, its quite fun to see your image develop over the weeks and the different ways to edit just the one shot. 🙂

  2. I like the treatment on this weeks version and the different crop, feels like it needs to be a bit squarer to my odd little brain a bit tho 🙂

  3. For me it’s about the juxtaposition and dynamics of the positioning of those posts and I think week 1 and week 3 produce the best compositions. I like the warmer images of week 1 vs the monochrome of week 2.

    1. Thanks for your comments Lynne, I agree about the positioning of the posts, they are perhaps better balanced in week 1 and I have to admit a preference to the warmer tones.

    1. Thanks for your comment Eliza, I like the warm tones in weeks one and four. They aren’t all that different from the original, it was a nice warm light that we were getting that day. 🙂

  4. Love this week’s crop Katie and the way it brings more attention to the wonderful reflections.
    So hard to choose, but I really like the fake sunrise and then the BW – a wonderful iconic image this month 😃

Leave a Reply

