One Four Challenge: February Week 3

Robyn G from Captivate Me hosts a monthly feature called One Four Challenge, one image processed four different ways. Each week of the month the participants post a different version of their image and at the end create a poll to see which image was the most popular.

Onto week three! Thank you for your feedback and comments. Ben from Aperture64 suggested that I used the graduated adjustment tool to cool down the sky and make it darker. I tried it, but I couldn’t get it to work, I think I was doing it right, but the sky became very stripey and the highlights in the clouds were lost and I couldn’t bring them back. Instead, I used one of the techniques from his Digital Darkroom series about split toning. I have only used this before with monochrome  images, but clearly they have a place in colour work too. My aim was to make the image look like it had been taken at sunrise. I toned the highlights a red/pink colour and balanced it by toning the shadows blue. I have changed the crop on the picture too as the large rock on the left was cropped out of the first two edits, but by bringing it back in, I think it has helped balance the image as the pseudo pink sunlight reflects off it.

Here is the finished week three edit.

What do you think, can I pretend that I got up really early to capture this shot?

Click on the image to see a bigger version.

Week three
Week three

Comments and feedback welcome.

Why not hop over to see the other posts on the One Four Challenge, click on the link or use the tag “One Four Challenge” in the Reader.

 

 

28 thoughts on “One Four Challenge: February Week 3

      1. The sun is not up too early at the moment, so generally get to see them, but there not usually this colourful! I’ve just seen your sunset shots, very nice!

      2. I’ll occasionally see a bit of sunrise out of my bedroom window but if I don’t have to be up early then I’ll stay in bed as long as I can. I’ve always been a night owl. I’m glad you like my sunsets – I do see alot of them!

  1. Yes looks like a sunrise too me, the only comment I would make from sitting through several sunrises and many sunsets is you don’t usually get the blue sky with the pink colour, the sky is usually paler and gets bluer as the sun comes up, however thats my experience in NZ in the deep south and it may well be different in other parts of the world 🙂

    1. Thanks for your comment Stacey, I like that you have sat through so many sunsets/rises, how romantic! From the sunrises I’ve seen here, I think we still get a bit of blue in them, maybe not so much as this, I suppose I could tone it down with a grad filter or something, also maybe I should have put a bit more yellow in. Maybe I won’t get away with the lie-ins after all! 😉

      1. Not really romantic when its you and your camera on a tripod with the seagulls screeching around you LOL Im not a morning person so I don’t do so many sunrise shots but in winter I certainly see a lot of them here when Im getting up.

        It was not a critiscm of your image at all, as I don’t know what your skies look like in the morning 🙂 Merely just a reflection on my experiences of the colours I have seen.

        And the whole point of the exercise was to experiement, and from that POV it was a complete success 🙂

      2. Sorry, doesn’t sound so romantic now! Don’t worry, I didn’t take it as a criticism, or at least I didn’t take it badly. I value your input and I’m glad you took the time to comment, that’s what this is all about. 🙂

  2. I really like the colors in this edit… the pinky skies could happen and your edits really emphasis the blueness of the water. I think it is a pretty picture, nice edit. 😀

Leave a Reply

