ABFriday Week 35: One Photo Focus

AfterBefore Friday is a weekly forum run by Stacy at Visual Venturing where participants get to show their editing skills with (unsurprisingly) an image after they have processed it and what it looked like before. The forum ranges from experts who know Photoshop like the back of their hand to beginners who are just discovering the delights of Lightroom (other programmes are available!).  After the success of the 6 month anniversary post, we decided that it would be really cool to all edit the same image once a month… enter the “One Photo Focus” If you want to join in the fun visit Stacy’s blog for all the insider info!

This month our original has been provided by Manal Ali, it is a great street scene of London on a rainy day with the Post Office Tower hiding in the fog in the background.

OnePhotoFocus-before-0050
image courtesy of Manal Ali

 

It has some great colours and leading lines in this image, but I had a lot of trouble with this one. I liked the diagonals created by the wide angle lens, the colours of the lights reflecting in the rain soaked pavements and the red buses with the red echoing around the image.  I was having great difficulty getting the look that I wanted from it, either I ended up cropping out the bits I wanted or loosing the colours. In the end I decided to crop to just one bit of it with the shop front and those great flags in from of it and include a red bus and in the reflection of the glass and the pedestrian. I adjusted the colours so the yellow stars on the flags would stand out and toned down the orange light from the shop. Fortunately the image itself was quite sharp as I have zoomed in quite a bit!

OnePhotoFocus-after-katieprior-0050

 

As usual, I’d be really interested to hear what you think. And don’t forget to check out the other versions of this image at Visual Venturing’s One Photo Focus, I can’t wait to see what everyone else has come up with!

 

18 thoughts on “ABFriday Week 35: One Photo Focus

  1. Wow! I love how your eye worked this image, Katie. And to capture the bus reflection like that was genius. It’s amazing the difference a cross can make! Thanks so much for being a part of ABF and 1PF 🙂

    1. Thanks Stacy, I have to say that I was quite pleased when I cropped and noticed how it brought out the reflection, the pedestrian was an added bonus! Seems your 1PF is getting very popular, we will all have to keep on our toes!! 🙂

  2. I never even thought of cropping this much so great job, this was where all the interesting colour and reflections were so nicely chosen Katie 🙂

  3. Nice edit Katie, I too had trouble working out what I wanted to focus on. You have done this really well and with your remarkable eye have thought to show the reflection of the bus as well. Great job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

