One Four Challenge: January Week 4

Robyn G from Captivate Me hosts a monthly feature called One Four Challenge, one image processed four different ways. Each week of the month the participants post a different version of their image and at the end create a poll to see which image was the most popular.

Thank you for all the positive responses I got from last week’s (and the preceding weeks) images, I have really enjoyed participating in Robyn’s One Four Challenge. It definitely is quite a challenge to edit one photo, four different ways!

This week I have been playing with the tone curves in Lightroom and have gone for something a bit extreme! I was going for a look that was more of an abstracted, impressionist image. This time the colours were changed using the RGB channels of the tone curve whilst flattening out some of the other tones. I used a radial filter to emphasise the figure behind the phone box by decreasing the sharpness in the area outside and cropped to remove the bright, toneless sky.

WEEK FOUR
WEEK FOUR

Any comments and suggestions are most welcome.

Here are allย the edits and the original for contrast, click on any phone box for a larger image .

 

Which do you like the best?

 

Why not hop over to see the other posts on theย One Four Challenge.

 

16 thoughts on “One Four Challenge: January Week 4

  1. Hi Katie – Ive really enjoyed all of your editions this month and Im so glad youre having fun. I love red and that phone box, but this week #4 is my favourite. Youve definitely achieved the Impressionist feel, I think – and those deep tones are wonderful. The crop draws me in and if I didnt know it was a phone box, Id be very curious!! A most enjoyable result ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  2. I really love last week’s edit, that red was so special! But, I also love how you played with the image this week. It isn’t over the top, it still feels within the boundaries of the image, which I really like. I also like how the person behind the phone booth is more clear this week, great idea. I chose last week’s for my favorite but great edits all around. I really did enjoy seeing you work through this image each week. Thanks!

  3. Wooo funky purple! Love the colour choice and also how you changed the focus to be on the girl thru the glass, captured perfectly here. Creative choice!

Leave a Reply

