One Four Challenge: January Week 3

Robyn G from Captivate Me hosts a monthly feature called One Four Challenge, one image processed four different ways. Each week of the month the participants post a different version of their image and at the end create a poll to see which image was the most popular.

After a lot of cogitating, I’ve decided to go black and white with a huge splash of colour for week three.

telephone box-2
WEEK THREE

In last weeks post, I had a comment Β about the fact that the lack of red colour in the image made you look at the detail in the rest of the image instead. Well this week, I am turning that on its head, so to speak and exaggerating the red by desaturating the rest of the image totally.Β I used Lightroom to convert to black and white by reducing the saturation in all the colours in the HSL panel except for the red and then fine tuning with the adjustment brush to remove the red from the rest of the image.

Any comments and suggestions are most welcome.

Here is the original and edits so far for contrast.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Click here for week one’s image.

Click here for week two’s image.

Why not hop over to see the other posts on theΒ One Four Challenge.

 

35 thoughts on “One Four Challenge: January Week 3

  1. I think this will be my favourite but will wait until next week. It is so striking in B&W with the red box, it just leaps out at you…. lovely πŸ™‚

  2. I was really looking forward to seeing what you had done this week and it’s amazing. Definitely a favourite so far. And you’ve just given me a new way to do selective colour as well (i was doing the whole thing with the adjustment brush- very time consuming) πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks so much. πŸ™‚ there seem to be quite a few different ways to do selective colour, i suppose it depends on the spread of colour in the original, worth giving it a try. πŸ™‚

    1. That is really kind of you Ben. I’m thinking really hard for next week’s image, plunging into the depths of what Lightroom can do. I’ve been looking at messing with the tone curve and it seems that you can get some really interesting effects. Its quite funny, when I first started this challenge, I had four images all ready and I think that I’ve only actually used one them, it really makes you think and try to “up your game” a little! πŸ™‚

  3. Great edit. That color red is so rich and deep, you can’t help but root for the image πŸ™‚ I love how your eye gets drawn to a given place (the red) and then can easily move through the rest of the image. Brilliant.

  4. It *is* a big splash of red Katie and I admire you for going there, its a bit overwhelming but a bold stylistic choice and totally justified, nice job.

Leave a Reply

