One Four Challenge: January Week 2

Robyn G from Captivate Me hosts a monthly feature called One Four Challenge, one image processed four different ways. Each week of the month the participants post a different version of their image and at the end create a poll to see which image was the most popular.

This week I was watching one of Adobe TV’s Lightroom video tutorials and they were showing how to do split toning. I had done this last week on my ABFriday post, but got the results more by luck than anything else. She was explaining the difference between highlight and shadow toning and how to create a cross processed image. Its still going to take a bit (lot) of practise, but I like the effect she got so I thought I would give it a go.

WEEK TWO
WEEK TWO

 

As an aside, Ben Rowe from Aperture64 mentionedΒ last week that on the week 1 edit the change in temperature had softened the contrast on the telephone box and suggested that I selectively change the white balance to bring it back. I used the adjustment brush to increase the tint and temperature to make it look more red and have to agree that it has improved it, I think it has made the colours more punchy, here is the result of the changes.Β I’d be interested to hear what others think about this.

telephone box-1-2

And finally, a gallery of the edits so far…

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Why not hop over to see the other posts on theΒ One Four Challenge.

 

33 thoughts on “One Four Challenge: January Week 2

  1. I like the red phone box photo the best. I am too limited to understand the technical changes you referred to, I don’t really even know what white balance is!! But, I just found out red is a color that fades very easily and they have to keep painting these phone boxes constantly or they turn an ugly pink. (source: Victoria Finlay, book called Colors in Art)

    1. Unfortunately, sometimes they don’t get painted very often and do go a yucky pink. Fortunately (?) we don’t often get enough sun to fade them!! Thanks for your comment. πŸ™‚

  2. Hey nice job on this week, it has a very vintage faded photo feel about it – you didnt say what you did but is it a split toning?

    Yes the edit on last week was subtle but did bring back some punch to the red of the phonebox πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks v much! Yes, I toned the highlights brown and the shadows cyan using the split toning drop down in Lightroom and cheekily added a bit of grain too. At the moment I only use Lightroom, but I think in the future I might like to dabble into the world of Photoshop. You are getting great results from the techniques you are learning, it’s great that we can follow your “learning journey”. I’m looking forward to seeing your post for this week. πŸ™‚

      1. Thanks Katie, this week wasnt anything too dramatic, but look out for Wk 4 as I have 2 variations that have had some creative stuff done to them πŸ™‚

        I liked what you did this week, I have never used split tonings as I don’t really understand it so good on you πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Katie – left you a comment on the iPad, but it disappeared. Boo!
    I’m back now on the real screen πŸ˜›
    I too like the vintage tone this cross processing has given you and I like the grain! I wonder what would happen if you used a gradient on the sky to tone it down a touch? Hope you don’t mind me wondering that out loud πŸ™‚
    I do like the changes to last week’s edit also – it definitely brings more clarity. A good suggestion.
    In my reply (possibly on another post) I mentioned the tute I used regarding gradients to create blur… here’s the link πŸ™‚
    http://www.iheartfaces.com/2013/11/how-to-create-a-tilt-shift-selective-focus-effect-in-photoshop/
    Hope you’re having fun – a good 2nd week πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks Robyn, do you know, the bright sky was bugging me a little and it hadn’t even crossed my mind to use a gradient, I was concentrating too much on the colour balance, doh! I will try your suggestion. Thanks for the link about the selective focus, I’ll look it up. πŸ™‚

  4. I like the vintage look to your image this week. It definitely works. The change in color to the phone booth from last week is really nice. I am a sole Lightroom user at this point, I am interesting in learning more about split toning, I am new to that idea. I’ll be sure to look it up πŸ™‚

  5. I love the split toning Katie! I’ve wanted to try it but never remember to… Maybe right now is the time. πŸ™‚

    And great job with the adjustment brush. I agree, this version’s reds are better.

    1. Thanks Anita, yes I also think the adjustment on the red makes it look better. I quite like the effect of the split toning, I think I will keep experimenting! Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚

  6. The edited week one photo is definitely improved and I think it’s a technique I need to learn how to do. I love this week’s photo though. I really like the vintage feel. Without the red making the phone box stand out the same, I’m noticing more of the other details and seeing it as a fuller picture. I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing, but that’s my observations.

    1. Yes I know what you mean, the red is very dominant and there are details in the rest of the image that you can miss. Sometimes it’s good to have a focal point though. I have two images in mind for next week and I think you have inadvertently helped me make up my mind. Thanks for visiting and commenting. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Ben and thanks for the suggestion about the colour balance, it seems to have really helped the image, I hope your head is not getting too big!! πŸ˜‰ I like this split toning effect, it may appear again somewhere!

  7. Great edit this week Katie and love that split tone. The upping of the red in last weeks image really made a difference, two totally different edits.

    1. Thanks Lee, I’m glad you like the edits, I was trying to make them both different, just got to keep it going over weeks 3 and 4! I’m looking forward to checking out the other One Four posts.

Leave a Reply

