ABFriday Week 31: One Photo Focus

AfterBefore Friday is a weekly forum run by Stacy at Visual Venturing where participants get to show their editing skills with (unsurprisingly) an image after they have processed it and what it looked like before. The forum ranges from experts who know Photoshop like the back of their hand to beginners who are just discovering the delights of Lightroom (other programmes are available!).  After the success of the 6 month anniversary post, we decided that it would be really cool to all edit the same image once a month… enter the “One Photo Focus” If you want to join in the fun visit Stacy’s blog for all the insider info!

This month our original has been provided by the very talented Emilio at photos by Emilio. They are really interesting looking trucks, I love how they are all in some state of decay, but still lined up perfectly. There is such depth in the textures and the contrasty tones are great, so I wanted to take advantage of these.

 

vintage trucks-1
photo courtesy of Emilio Pasquale

 

 

Personally, I’m not sure about the colours, they seem too vivid to me, maybe its because we don’t get as much sun as they do in Nevada so I’m just not used to it! I converted the original to black and white and did some major changes to the contrast and highlight and shadows. Then I used the split toning on the shadows to give them a kind of sepia tone, I thought a vintage feel to the picture would fit in with the subject matter. I cropped it very slightly to remove the tyre marks in the bottom right, the orange rope lost itself in the black and white conversion. I played about with the grey levels to ensure contrast and detail in the sky and also to make the tone of the trucks in the B&W conversion more pleasing.

Here is my final version of Emilio’s trucks, check out the ABFriday One Photo Focus for many more variations, it will be interesting to see what has been created.

vintage trucks-1-2

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “ABFriday Week 31: One Photo Focus

  1. Lovely job on the sepia tones, it very much caters to the vintage feel of the trucks. Lovely job on retaining the detail in the sky and the trees too 🙂

  2. What a fascinating concept: everyone editing the same image and seeing how differently they all might look. Sort of like several people cooking the same recipe, and then seeing how differently all the dishes taste!! I will go to the website you mentioned to see others. I love your trucks, by the way.

  3. Katie, I really enjoyed reading about your processing of this image and the split toning in your One Four post – replying here first 😜
    The image looks so good this way.
    I think the sepia tones and your process worked so well. Such fun doing the same image and seeing the results.

      1. Yes 😃
        The focus thing – Ive done it a couple of ways… Yes in PS.
        For AB Friday – it was mostly achieved through Analogue Efex. Think I described the process for that one.

        This week for One Four, I achieved it by using Lens Blur and a Gradient with a mask layer.
        I used a tute, so when Im on my computer next, I’ll add the link in a reply 😃

  4. Katie, it’s so interesting to me how different each of the submitted “monochrome” images were! I have never used split toning before (though I do know of the sliders in LR, I’ve never read up on the purpose or how best to use them). Now I see what great effect it can have. Wonderful choice, and I really love the crisp, bright sky. Well done!

  5. I love the not-quite-sepia tone you used, Katie. The vintage look is heightened in your version. I also felt the colors were distracting but these were found in Utah, not Nevada. The trucks out here seem to lose all their color exactly because of the sun!

    1. Thanks Emilio, I saw from your post that they were in Utah, I guess I should have realised that too much sun fades everything! You gave us a great shot to work with, the trucks look great, so old and rugged! It must be very interesting to see all the different variations of your image.

Leave a Reply

