After Before Friday: week 30

AfterBefore Friday is a weekly forum run by Stacy at Visual Venturing where participants get to show their editing skills with (unsurprisingly) an image after they have processed it and what it looked like before. The forum ranges from experts who know Photoshop like the back of their hand to beginners who are just discovering the delights of Lightroom (other programmes are available!). If you want to join in the fun visit Stacy’s blog for all the insider info!

“I took this photo in a dark area of the wood, where fungi like to grow, so the light was not great. I didn’t have my tripod with me so the shots were dark and perhaps not as sharp as I had wanted. I sharpened it, just a little, and tried to bring out the delicate white colouring of the little mushrooms. “

Before
Before

 

This week, I didn’t do much to the image, just some subtle changes. The main aim was to make the fungi stand out more against the background, so I cropped it to try to create a more dynamic image. I sharpened the image, but only a little, the depth of field is very shallow and I didn’t want to loose the blurriness of the background. I brought up the whites and the shadows and increased the contrast and added a post crop vignette.

 

After
After

This is the last ABFriday of 2014, we are having a Christmas holiday! We’ll be back on 9th January, in the meantime, why not visit some of the other ABFriday posts?

 

11 thoughts on “After Before Friday: week 30

    1. Thanks for your comment Robin. I try to get into the habit of walking away from the image and then looking again later and its not always how you remember it. I think that this helps knowing when you have gone too far with something. Of course pushing the image “too far” can also produce some exciting and great results.

Leave a Reply

