After Before Friday: week 28

AfterBefore Friday is a weekly forum run by Stacy at Visual Venturing where participants get to show their editing skills with (unsurprisingly) an image after they have processed it and what it looked like before. The forum ranges from experts who know Photoshop like the back of their hand to beginners who are just discovering the delights of Lightroom (other programmes are available!). If you want to join in the fun visit Stacy’s blog for all the insider info!

I didn’t think I’d get an image in for this week, but today has been a beautiful, if a bit cold, frosty day and I managed to get a few shots in our back garden. I was working handheld to start with, but when I looked at the images on the computer, I soon realised that I would have to go and fetch the tripod out. At least this gave me the chance to use my 10x close-up filter, so I could get further into the shot and create a sort of macro.

Here is the original. At first I thought I wouldn’t change it at all, but after looking at it a while, decided that it wasn’t really the image I was after and it has quite a bit of fringing around the bud, which you often get with close-up lenses.

katieprior-before-wk28-0249

In Lightroom, I decreased the temperature, vibrance and saturation and increased the clarity and contrast. I experimented with black and white, but it didn’t really work at all. When I had the “look” I wanted, I realised that there was a fair amount of fringing around the edge of the leaf bud, I had a bit of an explore about Lightroom and sure enough, there is a tool for removing chromatic aberration. Lightroom, the Swiss Army Knife of editing programmes! Chromatic aberration (or fringing) occurs when a lens is unable to bring all the wavelengths of colour to the same focus on a focal plane. It happens to a certain extent with most lens, but especially with the cheaper lenses. My 10x close up filter probably didn’t stand a chance! It can be easily removed in programmes such as Lightroom under the lens correction tools.

 

After this I added the good old post crop vignette and got my final image.  I still like the original, there is nothing really wrong with it, but I prefer the edited version in the sense that to me, it is has more about it, more atmosphere.

Thank you for reading so far, here is the final image (finally!)

katieprior-after-wk28-0249

12 thoughts on “After Before Friday: week 28

  1. I agree with you, Katie. The detail of the final edit allowing us to see more of the frosty effect makes this a more powerful photo. And kudos to you for finding that slider and thanks for the explanation (I never knew why it sometimes existed.) I’ve used it on occasion, but should get into the habit of checking out each image just to make sure no aberration exists. I’ve used the lens correction tool in that same panel on occasion too. I ❤️ LR!

    1. Thanks Stacy, I’ve not used the fringing tool before. There are so many of these hidden menus to explore in Lightroom, its quite fun finding them. I’m sure on most images you wouldn’t get much aberration, but the filter I used really accentuates it! Lightroom is great and its not too complicated either! 🙂

    1. Thanks Ben, once I found the fringing tool, Lightroom sorted it out quite easily. As you know, sometimes, you just need to find these tools and play about with them to find out how they work!

  2. oh I love your final image – and as usual, I enjoy hearing how it came about – how you went and got the tripod – and the edits – it always helps things come to life for me. and in your final edit – my very favorite part is how the green took on a deeper, darker shade – and it almost felt like an evening shot but then not really. the frosty effect was felt too – but I kept going back to the white on that darker green – not sure what green it is – but it likely sits near a blue hue or just has a forest green feel that I love. (maybe close to a British racing green – lol).

    1. Thanks for your lovely comment. I’m glad you like the final image, the green has taken on a rather blue tint. I’m not sure what colour I would call it, I like the British racing green though! 🙂

  3. wonderful cool winter image, even though there was nothing wrong with the original, those slight adjustments really improves the image, and thanks I learned more about chromatic aberration!

Leave a Reply

