Monochrome Madness

 

Groynes at the beach
Groynes at the beach

 

After weeks of looking at the gorgeous black and white images featured on Leanne Cole and Laura Macky’s Monochrome Madness black and white challenge, I eventually plucked up the courage to submit one of my own and was delighted to have it accepted, thank you so much Leanne and Laura.

This was taken last year on our summer holiday at Cooden beach in Sussex, England. A lovely little pebbly beach, quiet, but (when we were there) very windy. There were lots of these structures and they had been eroded by the sea, sun and wind to give a beautiful texture to the wood.

The image was processed through Lightroom (something I am trying to learn!) I think trying not to over process an image is probably the hardest thing, knowing when to stop!

Please take a look at the other wonderful black and white images at Monochrome Madness.

11 thoughts on “Monochrome Madness

  1. Perhaps I can suggest you my amateur method to avoid over processing (that’s not the case with your photograph): when you think you are satisfied with your processing, before to export it, open a page or see a youtube video and after that see quick your image and if you feel that it’s a bit unnatural reduce a bit the contrast or saturation.
    Actually lightroom has so many options that to me was so easy to ruin the photograph or work it hours and not be satisfied, for that reason I use photo ninja, it’s fewer options so it’s easier to me have with some clicks what I want. Regards.

  2. very cool –

    and just a comment on the over processing – well I think it should be decided from your gut – just my opinion – because I know a couple of photographers that do this a bit – but it is their style -a sense of what they prefer and like – and it is their art. do you know what I mean –
    anyhow, I love your work.

    1. Yes, I know what you mean. Some images I’ve seen look really good when they’re intentionally over processed. I’m just finding my way round editing software, maybe when I’ve worked it all out, I’ll want to experiment!

Leave a Reply

