Zero to Hero: “who I am and why I’m here”

This is me…

 

A couple of years ago I was offered a much neglected allotment. I’d been on the waiting list for ages and in the meantimeOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I had moved house and managed to set up a small growing area in our new back garden. The sensible thing would have been to say “no”, but something inside me thought, “what the heck!” lets give it a go. So I did.

 

I started to make a diary to record my progress on the site (to spur me along and see my progress as much as anything else). One day the other half suggested I turn it into blog.  Again, I thought “what is there to lose?” So about a year ago I started documenting my progress in a blog form. I didn’t have any followers, but found some interesting people to follow, I did keep a weekly posting for a couple of months, but one day I accidentally deleted all my photos and my blog just went into meltdown. Left feeling kind of “arghh” I gave it up, but was still following the Daily Post and getting their emails.DSC_4433

 

I have a great love of photography and so when I kept seeing The Daily Post’s emails for the weekly photo challenge I thought that I should get involved. Eventually a challenge I liked came up and I took some photos ready for a blog post, I then deleted my previous site and started another one.  I quickly chose the name “Drawing with Light” (from the literal translation of photography from the Greek, you see) and I’m still not sure that I’m 100 percent happy with it, but it will do for the time being.

 

With my post, err, posted, I got a few people liking my post and thought “hey, this is great!” so a few days later was spurred on to post again. Since then I have done over 20 posts, some are photo challenges and some are just photos that I am pleased enough with to show to other people and I’ve received some lovely comments. DSC_4435

 

My blog is intended to be somewhere I can showcase my photographs, hopefully it will enable me to build up enough images to have an organised, professional looking blog. Looking at some of the photography blogs that are around there are a lot of really nice, finely tuned sites with wonderful images and if you are looking at making a photography blog, then take a look at some of the “sites I follow” for inspiration.

 

DSC_4437DSC_4440  I would really like to connect with other bloggers who have an interest in photography, share tips and of course photos with them.  Also I have to remember to stay well away from the delete key, as this blog will be completely pointless without any photos!!

 

If you are interested, please look around my blog and I’d love it if you followed me, I am trying to post a photo at least a couple of times a week. I’m just hoping that I can keep up with an assignment a day for the next 30 days, we’ll have to see!

 

Oh, and the allotment, I fear it has got the better of me!!

 

Thanks for reading, hope to see you again soon.

 

Katie

 

15 thoughts on “Zero to Hero: “who I am and why I’m here”

  1. I love your photos. My mum has a garden too and it Is one of my favorite places to take pictures! I’m glad you are blogging again. I can’t imagine how hard it was loosing all your pictures and posts! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  2. well – it looks like we have the same last name – and so it is only fitting that we should meet in the blogosphere!! I really like your photos and look forward to peeking in each week. and I am glad you started the fresh blog – and your story reminds me as to how blogging is a unique experience for each of us – 🙂
    ~yvette

Leave a Reply

